GB name Speedway of Nations three

Great Britain Speedway Team has named its team for the inaugural Speedway of Nations tournament – and there’s a sensational return for two-time World Champion Tai Woffinden.

Warsaw SGP winner Woffinden is joined by British Champion Craig Cook and double Under-21 Champion Robert Lambert as Great Britain goes in search of its first team victory since 1989.

GB lines up alongside Australia, Sweden, France, Italy, Czech Republic and Finland in Event Two in Manchester on June 5, with only the top three teams progressing to the Final in Wroclaw, and team boss Alun Rossiter admits that it was tough to choose his final three.

He said: “It was a hard choice and it’s no secret that I was choosing from four riders really, but I just felt that Craig deserved the spot after his performances the past weekend when he got a maximum in Poland and won a very tough GP Challenge Qualifier in Germany.

“To win a round like that, where the standard was very high, is great for Craig and I’m hoping he’s ridden himself into some form. I’ve spoken with him at length and he’s moving in the right direction and I think that on form, he is one of our top three riders.

“Robert Lambert’s form has been very impressive this year, in Sweden, Poland and the UK, and although he is officially the reserve, the way the rules work means you can put your reserve in any race at any time, so Robert won’t be going there to make up the numbers at all.”

Rossiter also heralded the return of Woffinden, who will lead the side after a two-year exile; “It’s obviously great to have Tai back and we’re a much different team with him in it, his standards are so high and it’s going to be good to have him with us – I’m excited and I think we’ve got a really strong side.

“I have to say that Dan Bewley was very close and his time will come, his form this season has been sensational and I have no doubt that he’ll be a big part of our future, maybe this one came just a bit too soon but Dan has a huge future with us that’s for sure.”

With GB lining up in Event Two, Event One takes place in Teterow, Germany on June 2 where three from Germany, Denmark, Russia, Latvia, USA, Slovenia and Ukraine will qualify for the Final which will be raced over two days in Wroclaw on June 8 and 9.